

Winthrop University Digital Commons @ Winthrop University

Winthrop News 2017

Winthrop News and Events Archive

Summer 6-25-2017

Winthrop Faculty Emeriti Named; Tenure and Promotions Announced

Winthrop University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.winthrop.edu/winthropnews2017

Recommended Citation

Winthrop University, "Winthrop Faculty Emeriti Named; Tenure and Promotions Announced" (2017). *Winthrop News 2017*. 117.

https://digitalcommons.winthrop.edu/winthropnews2017/117

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Winthrop News and Events Archive at Digital Commons @ Winthrop University. It has been accepted for inclusion in Winthrop News 2017 by an authorized administrator of Digital Commons @ Winthrop University. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@mailbox.winthrop.edu.



ABOUT

ADMISSIONS & AID

ACADEMICS

SITE

STUDENT

AFFAIRS 06/25/2017

ATHLETICS

GIVING



All News

Archives

RSS News Feeds

Winthrop in the News

Winthrop **Faculty Emeriti** Named; Tenure and Promotions Announced

Quick Facts

- The 21 retiring faculty members have contributed a combined total of 472 years of
- The Board of Trustees supported the nominations for tenure as presented by the Division of Academic Affairs at the April 7 meeting; and Academic Affairs presented the names of the faculty members who earned promotion at the June 23 meeting.



Debra Boyd

ROCK HILL, SOUTH CAROLINA - The Winthrop University Board of Trustees approved 21 retiring faculty members for emeritus status and heard about the latest faculty promotions at the June 23 board meeting.

The 21 retiring faculty members have contributed a combined total of 472 years of service, according to Provost Debra Boyd.

They are: Leigh Armistead, psychology; Carlton Bessinger, human nutrition; John Bird, English and Margaret Bryant Endowed Professor of English; Glen Broach (posthumous), political science; Patrice Burleson, management; Barbara Fuller,

marketing; Martin Hughes, music; Katherine Kinsey; music and director of choral activities; Carol Marchel, educational psychology; Antie Mays, Dacus Library; Deana Morrow, professor and chair of Social Work; Emma J. Riddle, management; Elizabeth Silagyi-Rebovich, human nutrition and executive director of institutional effectiveness; Seymour Simmons, fine arts; Stephen Smith, political science; Jennifer Solomon, sociology; Tom Stanley, professor and chair of Fine Arts; Bob Stonebraker, economics; Dorothy Perry Thompson (posthumous), English and African American Studies; Roger Weikle, management and dean of the College of Business Administration; Michael Williams, music and director of percussion; and David Wohl, theatre and dean of the College of Visual and Performing Arts.

The Board of Trustees supported the nominations for tenure as presented by the Division of Academic Affairs at the April 7 meeting; and Academic Affairs presented the names of the faculty members who earned promotion at the June 23 meeting.

The six faculty members granted tenure are: in the College of Arts and Sciences, Kristen Abernathy, mathematics; Leslie Bickford, English; Nathaniel Frederick, mass communication; and Scott Shinabargar, world languages; in the Richard W. Riley College of Education, Pamela Wash, education; and in the College of Visual and Performing Arts, Douglas Presley, music.

There were 16 faculty members promoted to professor or associate professor. Promoted to the rank of professor are: in the College of Arts and Sciences, Siobhan Brownson, English; Jeannie Haubert, sociology; Peter Judge, religious studies; Scott Shinabargar, French; in the College of Business Administration, Hemant Patwardhan, management; and Laura Ullrich, economics; Richard W. Riley College of Education, Daniel Drane, sport management; Debra Leach, special education; Kristi Schoepfer, sport management; and Pamela Wash, education; in the College of Visual and Performing Arts, Lorrie Crochet, music, and Stephen Gundersheim, theatre.

Promoted to the rank of associate professor from assistant professor are: in the College of Arts and Sciences, Maria Aysa-Lastra, sociology; Eric Birgbauer, biology; Nathaniel Frederick, mass communication; and Amanda Hiner, English.

For more information, please contact **Judy Longshaw**, news and media services manager, at 803/323-2404 or e-mail longshawj@winthrop.edu.

[Back to Previous Page]

IN THE HEART OF THE CAROLINAS

A-Z Site Map Board of Trustees Disclaimer Finance & Business Office of the President Site Feedback Accessibility Calendars Emergency/Safety Financial Aid Online Learning (Graduate) Tuition & Fees Alumni & Friends **Directions** Employment Library Records & Registration Visit the Campus Residence Life Visitors Center Directory **Family Programs** Majors & More

© Winthrop University \cdot 701 Oakland Avenue \cdot Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA \cdot 803/323-2211