

Winthrop University Board of Trustees Minutes and Resolutions Archive

8-19-2013

### Board of Trustees Minutes August 19, 2013

Winthrop University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.winthrop.edu/boardoftrusteeminutes

#### **Recommended Citation**

Winthrop University, "Board of Trustees Minutes August 19, 2013" (2013). *Winthrop University Board of Trustees Minutes and Resolutions Archive*. 47. https://digitalcommons.winthrop.edu/boardoftrusteeminutes/47

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by Digital Commons @ Winthrop University. It has been accepted for inclusion in Winthrop University Board of Trustees Minutes and Resolutions Archive by an authorized administrator of Digital Commons @ Winthrop University. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@mailbox.winthrop.edu.



# Meeting of the Winthrop

## University Board of Trustees

Members present: Kathy Bigham (Chair), Karl Folkens, Jane LaRoche, Susan Smith-Rex, Bob Thompson, Donna Glenn Holley, Janet Smalley, Ashlye Wilkerson , Glenn McCall, Tim Hopkins, James Williamson, Tim Sease, Scott Talley, Jayne Marie Comstock (ex officio).

Members absent: Don Long, Mitchell Zais

Representatives present: Christopher Aubrie, Student Representative; John Bird, Faculty Representative

Representatives absent: None

**Others present:** Faculty and staff of Winthrop University, Anna Douglas of The Herald. The Board of Trustees met in Macfeat House on the campus of Winthrop University, Rock Hill, SC.

**Call to Order** Chair Bigham called the meeting to order at 2:00 p.m.

#### Report of Board Chair

Chair Bigham welcomed the Board, with a special welcome to Ashlye Wilkerson as our newest Board member, to the beginning of a new academic year.

#### Introduction of New Committee Chairs

Chair Bigham introduced the committee chairs for the 2013-14 academic year. Janet Smalley will continue as chair of the Committee on Academic Affairs, Bob Thompson will continue as chair of the Committee on Institutional Advancement and Development, Scott Talley has been named as the new chair of the Committee on Student Life, and Glenn McCall has been named as the new chair of the Committee on Finance. Karl Folkens will serve as elected by the Board as vice chair.

In the spirit of a new presidential administration, Chair Bigham urged the committee chairs to take a more active role in developing their committee agendas, to work closely with the vice presidents assigned to each committee, and to freely share with her any concerns or issues from their committees that may arise in the course of the year.

#### Formal Presentation of President Comstock to Board

As today's Convocation Ceremony is the first opportunity for the full Board of Trustees to be with Dr. Comstock as the sitting president of Winthrop University, Chair Bigham asked the Trustees to officially welcome her to the new role.

President Comstock thanked the Board for giving her the opportunity to lead Winthrop and said she and Larry were looking forward to working closely with them to move Winthrop forward in the years to come.

#### **Executive Session**

Bob Thompson moved with a second from Jane LaRoche that the Board meet in executive session for the purpose of discussing personnel, legal, and contractual issues.

President Comstock was excused from the meeting at 2:45 p.m. to prepare for Convocation.

Tom Hopkins moved the Board end executive session, Glenn McCall seconded. The motion passed unanimously by voice vote. No actions were taken in executive session.

#### Adjournment

Hearing no objections, Chair Bigham adjourned the meeting at 3:09 p.m.

Minutes submitted by Kimberly Faust, Secretary to the Board

APPROVED BY THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES ON JUNE 19, 2015