

Winthrop University Digital Commons @ Winthrop University

Winthrop News 2013

Winthrop News and Events Archive

Spring 3-5-2013

President DiGiorgio Along with Six Athletes and Coach Will Be Honored April 27

Winthrop University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.winthrop.edu/winthropnews2013

Recommended Citation

Winthrop University, "President DiGiorgio Along with Six Athletes and Coach Will Be Honored April 27" (2013). *Winthrop News 2013*. 54. https://digitalcommons.winthrop.edu/winthropnews2013/54

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Winthrop News and Events Archive at Digital Commons @ Winthrop University. It has been accepted for inclusion in Winthrop News 2013 by an authorized administrator of Digital Commons @ Winthrop University. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@mailbox.winthrop.edu.



ABOUT

03/05/2013

ATHLETICS

GIVING

ACADEMICS

🖸 SHARE 📑 😭 🏘 ...)

All News

Archives

RSS News Feeds

Winthrop in the News

President DiGiorgio Along with Six Athletes and Coach Will Be Honored April 27

ADMISSIONS & AID

AFFAIRS

Quick Facts

Along with President DiGiorgio and former Men's Basketball Coach Gregg Marshall, the Hall of Fame will induct Vali Arnason, Darrlyn Alexander, Jason Colson, Stephanie Morris and Lisa Mullins.

STUDENT

Tickets for the reception and induction dinner are priced at \$25 and can be reserved by contacting Eagle Club Director Sharen DuBard at 803/323-2129, ext. 6218. The reception will begin at 6 p.m. followed by the dinner at 7 p.m.



ROCK HILL, S.C. -- Five outstanding athletes along with retiring school President Anthony DiGiorgio and former men's basketball coach Gregg Marshall will be inducted into the Winthrop Athletics Hall of Fame during ceremonies on Saturday, April 27 in the Richardson Ballroom of the DiGiorgio Campus Center.

Tickets for the reception and induction dinner are priced at \$25 and can be reserved by contacting **Eagle Club Director Sharen DuBard** at 803/323-2129, ext. 6218. The reception will begin at 6 p.m. followed by the dinner at 7 p.m.

Anthony DiGiorgio

Dr. DiGiorgio has served for 24 years as Winthrop's president during which time the intercollegiate athletics program has grown from 12 to 18 teams, and new facilities have been constructed for baseball, softball, track and field, tennis and soccer while the Winthrop Coliseum has undergone extensive renovation. During his years at Winthrop, DiGiorgio has been a strong supporter of intercollegiate athletics and has served two terms on the NCAA board of directors as well as two terms as president of the Big South Conference.

Marshall served as the men's basketball coach for nine years and directed the program to seven **Big South Conference tournament** championships and seven trips to the NCAA tournament. His last Winthrop team achieved the **first NCAA first-round NCAA tournamentvictory** for the school and **Big South Conference** when the Eagles defeated Notre Dame. He was voted **Big South Coach of the Year four times** and was inducted into the **Big South Hall of Fame in 2012**. When he left Winthrop following the 2006-07 season, he was the winningest coach in Big South history with 194 victories.

In addition to Marshall and Dr. DiGiorgio, the 2013 Hall of Fame Class will include:

* Vali Arnason, men's soccer player (Class of 2004), a three-time All-Big South Conference firstteam selection and the 2001 Player of the Year.

* **Darrlyn Alexander**, softball player (Class of 1984), a 1984 NAIA All-American softball selection and compiled a 61-17 career pitching record.

* **Jason Colson**, baseball player (Class of 2001), a two-time Big South Conference baseball first - team selection and the 2001 Player of the Year who holds the Big South career home run record and was inducted into the Big South Hall of Fame in 2012.

* **Stephanie Morris**, basketball player (Class of 1986), is the school's fifth all-time leading scorer and a member of the NAIA District 6 all-time second team who still holds the single game Winthrop

women's scoring record with 37 points.

* Lisa Mullins, volleyball player (Class of 1991), is a three-time All-Big South Conference first-team selection and the 1987 Player of the Year who still holds the school record for highest single season hitting percentage and career blocks.

[Back to Previous Page]

IN THE HEART OF THE CAROLINAS

A-Z Site Map Accessibility Alumni & Friends Arts Board of TrusteesEmailCalendarsEmergeDirectionsEmploDirectoryFamily

Emergency/Safety Employment Family Programs Finance & Business Financial Aid Library Majors & More

Office of the President Online Learning (Graduate) Records & Registration Residence Life Tuition & Fees Visit the Campus Visitors Center Wingspan

© Winthrop University · 701 Oakland Avenue · Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA · 803/323-2211