

## Winthrop University Digital Commons @ Winthrop University

Winthrop News 2008

Winthrop News and Events Archive

Spring 4-7-2008

## S.C. Schools Capture Awards at Model United Nations

Winthrop University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.winthrop.edu/winthropnews2008

## **Recommended Citation**

Winthrop University, "S.C. Schools Capture Awards at Model United Nations" (2008). *Winthrop News 2008*. 31.

https://digitalcommons.winthrop.edu/winthropnews2008/31

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Winthrop News and Events Archive at Digital Commons @ Winthrop University. It has been accepted for inclusion in Winthrop News 2008 by an authorized administrator of Digital Commons @ Winthrop University. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@mailbox.winthrop.edu.



**ADMISSIONS & AID ACADEMICS** STUDENT LIFE **ATHLETICS ABOUT GIVING** 



S.C. Schools **Capture Awards** at Model United **Nations** 



ROCK HILL, S.C. - Three South Carolina high schools were awarded top honors April 4 at the 32nd annual Model United Nations at Winthrop University.

Held April 2-4 in Tillman Hall, the program involved hundreds of students representing nearly 30 high schools from North and South Carolina. An awards ceremony Friday afternoon capped two days of deliberations over world events centered around this year's theme of "Securing the World of Tomorrow Today."

Pinewood Preparatory High School of Summerville, S.C., whose team represented Ghana, took the Winthrop Cup for best all around high school. Northwestern High School of Rock Hill, S.C., representing the United Kingdom, captured the Secretariat Award for contributing the most to the success of the conference. The Geoffrey Bruce Award for the delegation acting most in character of its country went to the Fort Mill High School team from Fort Mill, S.C., representing the United

Top committee performers in the **Legal Committee** were: Veronica Martinez, Fort Mill High School, U.S.A.; Kayla Barber, Stratford High School, Cuba; and Leah Hassler, Mayo High School for Math, Science and Technology, South Africa. For the Political and Security Committee, the standouts were: Sally Horne, Rock Hill High School, Turkey; Daniel Koverman, Fort Mill High School, United States; and Ross Baker, Northwestern High School, Libya.

In the Social and Humanitarian Committee, recognition was given to Patrick Hockl, Pinewood Preparatory High School, Ghana; Sudeep Das, Northwestern High School, United Kingdom; Kristin Archie, Fort Mill High School, Uganda. Standouts in the General Assembly were Matt Londergan, Pinewood Preparatory High School, Ghana; Jeff Bowers, Rock Hill High School, Russia; and John Flondgon, Christ Church Episcopal, Israel.

The African Union committee members recognized for their work were Amy Peele, Sumter High School, Kenya; Aris Hanchard, Pinewood Preparatory High School, Ghana; and Desirae Gostlin, Mayo High School for Math, Science and Technology, South Africa. The Security Council award winners were: Katie lannace, Pinewood Preparatory High School, Ghana; Benjamin Simpson, Northwestern High School, United Kingdom; and Scott Cameran, Mayo High School for Math, Science and Technology, South Africa.

Visit the Model UN's Homepage

[Back to Previous Page]

IN THE HEART OF THE CAROLINAS

Alumni & Friends Directions Employment Library Records & Registration Visitors Center
Arts Directory Family Programs Majors & More Residence Life Wingspan

© Winthrop University · 701 Oakland Avenue · Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA · 803/323-2211